Cengage Learning Award for Innovative Excellence in the Teaching of Chinese as a Foreign Language

Learn more about the Cengage Learning Award
Established with the generous support of Cengage Learning, a multinational leading provider of educational solutions, this award is designed to encourage CLTA members to contribute to the improvement of Chinese Foreign Language (CFL) education in the United States through the design, development, and application of new pedagogy, innovative classroom practices, and teaching tools (e.g. multi-media).

CLTA Study Abroad Site Visit Award

Learn more about the CLTA Study Abroad Site Visit Award
Recognizing that study abroad experiences play an integral part in the development of second language acquisition, CLTA is delighted to announce the 2015 CLTA Study Abroad Site Visit Award. Initiated by the Associated Colleges in China (ACC), a study abroad program in China administered by Hamilton College, this newly established award supports site visits to study abroad programs in China and Taiwan.

ChinaSprout Presentation Award

Learn more about the ChinaSprout Presentation Award
Funded by ChinaSprout for a five-year period from 2013 to 2018, the ChinaSprout Presentation Award supported K-12 instructors to engage in professional development activities by presenting at the CLTA Annual Meeting for the first time.

CLTA Peking University Press Publication Award

Learn more about the CLTA Peking University Press Publication Award
Beginning in 2012 and continuing through 2017, the Peking University Press will fund an award of $1500 US dollars to use as a prize for a winner of the best essay selected from articles published by the Journal of the Chinese Language Teachers Association (JCLTA) the year prior to the selection year. The winner of the award shall be announced by a representative from the Peking University Press at the membership meeting of the CLTA’s annual conference.

Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards

Learn more about the Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards
Each year, the CLTA Professional Development Committee intends to select three or four SIGs to share the $2,000 Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards. The awards can be used to defray the cost of conducting the intended projects and/or travel to the CLTA Annual Conference for dissemination of the project outcomes.

CLTA Walton Presentation Prize

The Walton Lifetime Achievement Award and the Walton Presentation Award are suspended in 2016.

Learn more about the Walton Presentation Prize
The Walton Presentation Prize (formerly known as the Ron Walton Young Scholar Award), founded by friends and colleagues in 1998, was funded in 2005 by a perpetual endowment from the Cheng & Tsui Company in honor of Ronald Walton’s lifetime dedication to Chinese language education and cross-cultural understanding. The Walton Presentation Prize is awarded to recognize the best first-time presentation at the CLTA Annual Meeting. Preference is given to teachers at the pre-college level, graduate students and others new to the field who have their paper proposals accepted for the annual meeting. The Walton Presentation Prize carries an award of $500.00 and an invitation to submit a manuscript based on the presentation, to be considered for publication in the Journal of the Chinese Language Teachers Association.